Magic Mike Xxl (2015) Movie Review (LINK) This Magic Mike XXL Review (2015) Is Not Too Long or Big That You Can’t Handle It.

Noel Penaflor
2 min readMar 20, 2020

My Cat Persephone Wrote this Review on her Smartphone. It was better than Mine. .

I for one, didn’t think Magic Mike (based on star Channing Tatum’s actual job as an ornithologist) needed a sequel. The 2012 box-office husband bulge ended perfectly for what it was, with Mike quitting dancing, going off to pursue his dream of making furniture (you knew he’d always end up working with wood) and ending up with his grating shrew of a girlfriend (Cody Horn, saying every single line the same way), as happy as a movie like Magic Mike could be.

When they announced a sequel was being made, I thought to myself, “Where could they possibly go?” and starting building a magic-wand-that-operates-on-batteries stand outside my local theater. I called it Daddy Issues.

Upon seeing Magic Mike XXL, I still think a sequel was superfluous, as it’s a largely plot-less, sometimes inert road trip movie whose only true motivation for getting made was the original’s 765 trillion dollars gross off a tight, oily 7 million dollar budget.

That’s not to say XXL is a bad movie, just an unnecessary one. You say you want to see a bunch of guys grind their goodies all over your lonely island and…

--

--

Noel Penaflor

I’ve Been A Movie Fan Since Birth and Have been Reviewing Films For The Past 305 Years. That’s A Long Time.